Loading please wait

Loading please wait
Sign In
Island County > Civil Service Commission
IslandCounty Assessor

Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission is established in compliance with the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 41.14.010 “The general purpose of [Civil Service] is to establish a merit system of employment for county deputy sheriffs and other employees of the office of county sheriff, thereby raising the standards and efficiency of such offices and law enforcement in general.”

The duties and responsibilities of the Civil Service Commission may be found in Chapter 2.12 of the Island County Code and RCW 41.14.060. Service on the Civil Service Commission is without fee or compensation. Members must be a citizen of the United States, a resident of Island County for at least 2 years immediately preceding appointment, and a registered voter in Island County.  Six year term.

The Commission meets the 2nd Thursday of each month at 9:30 a.m. in the Administration Building, 1 NE 7th Street Suite 200, Coupeville, Washington, Room 116. The Civil Service Commission is charged with the recruitment and examination process for filling job openings in the Sheriff’s Office. Their rules govern appointments, promotions, assignments, transfers, demotions, suspensions, discharges and/or reinstatements to ensure that such actions are made on the basis of merit and fitness.

Summary of Commission Duties

  • Make rules for operation of the civil service system that are consistent with state law.
  • Give practical tests to determine the capacity of persons examined to perform duties of the position sought.
  • Conduct investigations and prepare reports.
  • Hear and determine appeals or complaints.
  • Provide for, develop and hold competitive tests to determine relative qualifications of candidates and, as result of the testing process, prepare eligibility lists.
  • Certify to the appointing authority the name (or names) of the individual(s) ranked highest on the eligibility list.
  • Keep records. Approve payrolls.

Commission Members

  • Renee’ Mueller, Chair
  • R. Edward "Ed" Johnson, Vice-Chair
  • Mike O'Mahony

CSC Information

Contact Person

Contact Us

Phone Number:

Mailing Address:

Email Address: ​​

Island County

Copyright Island County. All Rights Reserved 2019

Site Disclaimer | Contact Us

Main Offices

Whidbey Office
1 NE 7th Street
Coupeville, WA 98239

Camano Office
121 N East Camano Dr
Camano Island, WA 98282

Helpful Numbers

Main Line: (360) 678-5111
Sheriff: (360) 679-7310

Juror Recordings
Superior Court: (800) 254-2755
District Court: (800) 946-9765

Island County Directory

Employee Portal