Washington law requires motorists secure their loads (RCW 46.61.655) to prevent cargo from breaking free. Since 1994, Island County Code (13.02A.095) has required an unsecured load fee to be charged for vehicles arriving at transfer stations that do not have secured loads.
$3 Cars (with Passenger License Plates)$5 Trucks with loads up to 1 ton$10 Trucks with loads more than 1 ton
Secure Your Load, General Safety InformationWashington Department of Ecology
WSP Good to Know - Secure Your Load Washington State Patrol