"I believe strongly in a community that works together with law enforcement to help solve crime and make Island County a safer place to live. In order to commit to this philosophy, I will dedicate myself to answering the needs of the citizens and fostering their trust in the men and women of the Island County Sheriff's Office."
The Island County Tip email is an effort to elicit information from concerned citizens about illegal activity occurring within the confines of Island County, by giving its citizens an ability to communicate with us confidential information.
Anyone wanting to report information or provide tips are encouraged to contact us through our tip email, to include as much precise information as possible such as city, date/time, address, what is occurring, and attachments such as photographs. If you are willing to identify yourself, the information will remain confidential and not available to anyone except restricted Sheriff’s investigators assigned to this email.
The tip emails are used to disseminate information to Sheriff’s investigators, and to local police agencies in an attempt to make our communities in Island County a safer place for all in which to live.
Email tips are gathered during regular business hours. Remember – if you are reporting a crime in progress, please call 9 1 1.
(Olympia) - Were you recently in a collision and now need a copy of your police traffic collision report for your insurance company? Instead of the four weeks it previously took when mailing in the request, now a few simple clicks of the mouse you can request a copy of your report and receive it in one to five days.
“This new Web site will provide the citizens with an important service that’s faster and easier to use,” said Washington State Patrol Chief John R. Batiste. “From the officer filing the collision report via their laptops in their patrol car to seeing it on the Web site, we could not have completed this program without the support and partnerships of other state agencies.”
The Washington State Patrol (WSP) Collision Records Section partnered with the Department of Revenue, Department of Licensing, Washington State Department of Transportation, Office of the State Treasurer, and Office of Financial Management and received grant funding from the Washington Traffic Safety Commission to build the Washington Requests for Electronic Collision Reports or “WRECR” application.
The goal of the project was to give the public the ability to go online, enter their identifying information, find their collision report, pay the $9.50 fee, and receive their collision report via e-mail, fax, or by mail in one to five days.
“There are still some requirements our collision records technicians need to accomplish to process the online request before it can be sent out,” said Jim Anderson, Collision Records Division Administrator. “Even with these requirements, the online records requests make receiving the collision report weeks faster than the old method.”
The Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 46.52.030 requires all law enforcement agencies to submit their collision reports to the WSP Collision Records repository in a timely manner. Prior to this Web site, an individual looking for a copy of a collision report would have to mail in the request and a $9.50 fee, even if the WSP Collision Records Section had not yet received the collision report.
“This new application allows the individual to find their report online first and then pay the fee for the report,” said Anderson. “If at first you do not find your report, please check back. There is no cost until you actually find your report.”
The WRECR application can be found on the State Patrol’s Web site at www.wsp.wa.gov/publications/collision.htm.
The WRECR Web site has training and other helpful information available to assist requestors with the process. If people still have questions about how to obtain their collision records they are always welcome to contact WSP’s Collision Records Section at (360) 570-2355.
For more information about the WRECR program and how to use it, check out our Good to Know – Collision Reports video.
Fingerprinting at Camano: on the 1st and 3rd Thursdays of every month from 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Fingerprinting at South Whidbey: By appointment only
Fingerprinting Coupeville: EFFECTIVE JULY 1st Tuesday-Friday 9:00am - 3:00pm
EFFECTIVE JULY 1st Washington State Firearms Dealer License and Vendor Permits are issued between the hours of 9:00am - 3:00pm at the Coupeville Office only, Tuesday - Friday
Coupeville Office :Law & Justice Bldg.101NE 6th StreetCoupeville, WA 98239
Freeland Office :5521 E Harbor RdFreeland, WA 98249
Camano Office :121 NE Camano Dr Camano Island, WA 98282
Phone Numbers:North Whidbey (Coupeville): (360) 678-4422South Whidbey (Freeland):(360) 321-5113 x7310Camano Island: (360) 629-4523 x7310Fax: (360) 679-7371
Mailing Address:PO BOX 5000Coupeville WA 98239
Office Hours:Coupeville Office:8:00AM to 4:30PMMonday through FridayFreeland Office:9:00AM to 5:00PMMonday through Friday