An eviction (Writ of Restitution) is the action of expelling someone, especially a tenant, from a property; expulsion or "the forced eviction of residents". The court follows the tenant-landlord act of the State of Washington. More information can be found under the Revised Code of Washington RCW 53.12, RCW 59.18, and RCW 59.20.
Once the court has issued a final Writ of Restitution, the Sheriff's Office requires a fee of $100.00 and the following documents to proceed:
~ Certified, stamped Writ of Restitution
~ Request for Storage form
~ Eviction intake sheet
Eviction date/time will be set upon receiving said documents. The Island County Sheriff's Office follows the Washington State Revised Code of Washington's guidelines on timeframes of service and the final eviction date.
Sheriff’s Sales are “judicial foreclosures”. The order to sell comes from the Superior Court Clerk. We are selling only the judgment debtor’s interest in the real estate. It is subject to existing liens and encumbrances. Our office has limited information about the sale property since we do not need to know any information other than the address and legal description to conduct our sales. There is no possibility for potential purchasers to view the interior of the structure prior to the sale.
Our office requires:
~ A detailed letter of instruction to include physical and legal description of property; Assessor’s tax parcel number; redemption period; interest rate; attorney of record; service address of judgment debtors.
~Original + three (3) copies of the Writ of Execution or Order of Sale
~ Copy of Judgment
~ Sheriff’s Fee of $350.00
~ Auditor’s Fee of $103.50 (increases to $203.50 as of July 25, 2021) for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page. The packet to include the Auditor’s Indexing Page, your Order of Sale or Writ of Execution and the Sheriff’s Notice of Execution of Real Property.
~ Items needed prior to sale: Affidavit of Mailing and bid letter, which should include an itemized list of the total amount due at the time of sale and the amount of credit bid. This information must be received prior to the sale.
Sheriff’s sales of real property are held on Friday mornings at 10:00 a.m. on the front steps of the Law and Justice Center.
If you bid at the sale, you must provide payment via check made payable to the Island County Superior Court Clerk’s Office by 2 p.m. that day or the sale will go to the next highest bidder.
A Sheriff’s Deed will be issued upon request after the redemption period expires. To Issue a deed we require:
~ Original Certificate of Sale
~ Copy of the Order Confirming Sale
~ Sheriff's fee of $60.00
The Island County Sheriff's Office offers service of process for civil documents upon requested (for a fee) and as required by the courts. Documents may be mailed or dropped off.
Mailed documents should include the following:
~ documents to be served
~ a letter of instruction to include a physical address for the individual being served as well as a mailing address for the individual requesting service.
~ Service Intake
~ check or money order
WE DO NOT GUARANTEE SERVICE
Our service of process fees are as follows:
Service on one individual................$60Service on two individualsat same address...............................$75Service in the jail...............................$30
Service on one individual................$60
Service on two individuals
at same address...............................$75
Service in the jail...............................$30
Island County Law & Justice Building 2nd Floor101 NE Sixth StCoupeville, WA 98239Monday through Friday except holidays or county closures: 8 am to 4:30 pm
Island County Law & Justice Building 2nd Floor101 NE Sixth StCoupeville, WA 98239
Monday through Friday except holidays or county closures: 8 am to 4:30 pm
You may mail documents depending on the carrier to:
Via UPS or FEDEX
Island County Sheriff's OfficeLaw & Justice Building2nd FloorAttn: Civil101 N.E. Sixth StreetCoupeville, WA 98239 Via USPS:Island County Sheriff's OfficeAttn: CivilPO Box 5000Coupeville, WA 98239Payment optionsCash or personal checkNo Credit or debit cards, please.*ALL FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE*
Island County Sheriff's Office
Law & Justice Building
101 N.E. Sixth Street
Coupeville, WA 98239
PO Box 5000
No Credit or debit cards, please.
*ALL FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE*