Loading please wait

Loading please wait
Sign In
Island County > Sheriff's Office > Concealed Pistol License

Concealed Pistol Licenses

last updated 6/25/2020

Applications are currently being accepted at the following location:

Island County Law & Justice Building 
2nd Floor
101 NE Sixth St
Coupeville, WA  98239

360-678-4422

 *Please note that we cannot make change for large bills*


Original Concealed Pistol License Application

Starting June 23rd you are welcome to schedule an appointment to apply for an Original Concealed Pistol License at the ICSO Coupeville Location only (our Camano and Freeland locations remain closed).  Time slots are offered Tuesday through Friday hourly between 9:00am and 3:00 pm.  To schedule, please call us at 360-678-4422 option #5

Things to note:

  • We do require that you wear a mask.
  • Please reschedule if you are feeling unwell.  Temperature will be checked at the time of your appointment.
  • The application fee is $49.25 cash or check only.  We are unable to accept cards.
  • Please be sure to bring picture ID. State or Federally issued identification (ex: state driver's license, military ID, passport) are all acceptable options.
  • You will need to complete a State of Washington Concealed Pistol License Application, which you can download ahead of time or we have some available on the table outside our office.
  • Fingerpints will be taken at the time of your application

Please follow all posted safety guidelines including wearing a mask and washing your hands before entering the office. If you are exhibiting a fever or cough, do not enter. Due to social distancing rules, only one person at a time in the lobby, no guests (to include children, spouse, etc).

If you are not present within 15 minutes of your appointment time, your appointment will be forfeited.

*This procedure is subject to change as conditions change*
 

Renewing or replacing your existing Concealed Pistol License

We are processing CPL renewals at this time at our Coupeville office only.  Our Camano and Freeland locations remain closed.  

You may come into our Coupeville office between 9:00am and 4:00pm, Tuesday through Friday.   An appointment is not required for Renewal/Replacement of existing CPLs.  Due to social distancing we are only allowing one person in our lobby at a time so if you arrive and see the space is occupied please wait.

Things to note:

  • We do require that you wear a mask
  • Please delay your visit if you are unwell for your safety and ours.
  • You will need to complete a State of Washington Concealed Pistol License Application, which you can download ahead of time or we have some available on the table outside our office.
  • The application fees are listed below.  We accept cash or check only and are unable to process cards.
    • $32.00 for a standard renewal (no more than 90 days prior to current CPL expiration date)
    • $42 for a late renewal (up to 90 days after current CPL expiration date). 
  • Please be sure to bring picture ID and your existing CPL.

Please follow all posted safety guidelines including wearing a mask and washing your hands before entering the office. If you are exhibiting a fever or cough, do not enter. Due to social distancing rules, only one person at a time in the lobby, no guests (to include children, spouse, etc).

As an alternative, you may mail in your completed CPL renewal paperwork along with the appropriate fees in check or money order payable to Island County Sheriff – please do not send cash -

                                     Mail to:             Island County Sheriff's Office                                                                                                                                                  PO Box 5000                                                                                                                                                                                Coupeville, WA 98239          

Upon receipt of your paperwork and fee our office will renew your license and hold it until you are able to come in with your state or federally issued identification and pick it up. 

***We are currently distributing CPL Renewal/Replacements from our Coupeville location however our Camano and Freeland locations remain closed. If you would like to wait and pick up your CPL at an alternate location other than Coupeville once the closures are lifted, please indicate on your application where you would prefer to pick up the license (Camano Island, Freeland Precinct).

If your previous permit has been expired more than 90 days you will be required to apply as an original with a fee of $49.25.  Please see the section on Original CPL applications for details.

Also please recognize that once your license lapses, you are NOT authorized to conceal carry until you have picked up your new license. Washington State is an open carry state, as long as you are eligible to possess a firearm, you may open carry.

Applicants must be Island County residents or Out of State residents.  State of Washington residents outside Island County must apply at their local County Sheriff's office.  

Your application can be denied if:

  • You have a concealed pistol license in a revoked status
  • You are under 21 years of age
  • You are subject to a court order or injunction concerning the possession of firearms
  • You are free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a felony offense
  • You have an outstanding warrant for your arrest from any court of competent jurisdiction for a felony or misdemeanor
  • You have been ordered to forfeit a firearm within one year before filing a concealed pistol license application

Payment options

  • Cash, personal check, or money order

Original permit requirements

Renewal/Late renewal requirements

  • State or Federally issued identification (ex: state driver's license, military ID, passport)
  • $32.00 for those permits not expired (no earlier than 90 days before expiration)
  • $42.00 for those permits expired 90 days or less
  • If your previous permit has been expired for more than 90 days, you are required to apply as an original
  • Completed State of Washington Concealed Pistol License Application

Replacement requirements

Renewal of Concealed Pistol License by Deployed Members of the Armed Forces

  • For any person who as a member of the armed forces which includes the national guard and armed forces reserves, who are unable to renew their CPL in person because of assignment, reassignment, or deployment for out of state military
  • Service Member shall
    1. Mail a copy of their orders designating the specific period of assignment, reassignment, or deployment for out of state military service along with a completed Concealed Pistol License Application.
    2. Apply for renewal within 90 days before or after the expiration date of the CPL
    3. Pay the renewal licensing fee or the late renewal fee depending on the date of application
    4. Pass a background check in order to receive the renewed CPL
  • Expiration Date - The CPL renewed under these circumstances takes effect on the expiration date of the prior license and is valid for a period of one year
  • Renewal Fee - Fees have not changed subsequent to the one year expiration. Fees are $32 for a renewal up to 90 days early and $42 for a late renewal up to 90 days late according to RCW 9.41.070

All applications must be submitted in person with the exception of the Deployed Armed Forces Renewal. 

No ATM or debit capabilities are available in our building.

Processing of any Original permit for county residents will take 30 days and out of state residents may take up to 60 days. Processing of Renewal and Replacement permits typically take up to 7 business days.

For additional information about concealed weapons permits and firearms, please go to the State of Washington Web Site.​​​​