Due to the Passing of State Bill 5186, Starting with the 2016 Property Tax Year utilizing your 2015 income, the Senior/Disabled Exemption Income Levels have changed. You will automatically be placed in the appropriate level if you are already receiving the exemption. There is no further action required by you.
If you have any questions regarding the exemption level change, contact Nicole Wheat at the Island County Assessor’s office at 360-678-7853. If you have questions regarding the taxes please contact the Island County Treasurer at 360-679-7302.
If you are a senior citizen or disabled person with your primary residence in Washington State (own and occupy more than 6 months a year)
(VACANT LAND does not qualify) this program offers a reduction in property tax based on eligibility requirement of age (61 or older) or disability and income qualification (under $35,000 a year for 2014 and previous or $40,000 for 2015 and forward).
For details about the program
If you are new to the program and want to apply for the first time, turned 61 prior to December 31, 2017 and meet the income qualifications you can apply for the exemption this year with your 2017 income information for a reduction in your 2018 property taxes.
If your annual income for the assessment year (last year) is UNDER $30,000, your home will be exempt from regular property taxes on $60,000 or 60% of the valuation, whichever is greater - Plus exemption from 100% of excess levies.
For example: your annual income is $18,000 and your assessed home value is $150,000, your taxable property value will be $60,000
If your annual income for the assessment year (last year) is between $30,001—$35,000, your home will be exempt from regular property taxes on $50,000 or 35% of the valuation, whichever is greater not to exceed $70,000, plus exemption from 100% of excess levies.
For example: your annual income is $32,000 and your assessed home value is $150,000, your taxable property value will be $97,500
If your annual income for the assessment year (last year) is between $35,001 and $40,000, your home will be exempt from 100% of excess levies & Part 2 of the State School Levy for 2018.
You must meet one of the following:
You must own and occupy the home in Washington State for which the exemption is claimed in total (fee owner), as a life estate (including a lease for life), or by contract purchase by December 31 of the assessment year.
A home owned jointly by a married couple, a registered domestic partnership or by co-tenants is considered owned by each spouse, domestic partner, or co-tenant. Only one person must meet the age or disability requirements. A co-tenant is a person who resides with the claimant and has ownership interest in the residence. Income information for the co-tenant must be provided.
Your annual combined disposable income cannot exceed $40,000
IF NO TAX RETURN WAS FILED THEN GATHER THE ITEMS FROM BELOW THAT PERTAIN TO YOU:
We may be able to deduct any non-reimbursed expenses paid by you, your spouse or domestic partner for things such as:
Click on the link below to see and print out the form needed.
Renewal of your senior and disabled property tax exemption is once every four years! Our office will mail you the Renewal form.
You will file once every four years based on the first initial of your last name.
If your last name begins with:
Click on the following links to see and print out the forms needed.
must notify us whenever there is a change in status for the following reasons:
You can use this form to report the change.
Under the Deferral Program, the Washington State Department of Revenue pays the property taxes and/or special assessments on your behalf.
The deferred amount, plus interest (5% a year), becomes a lien in favor of the state until the total amount is repaid. Property tax deferral is available for property taxes and /or special assessments on your primary residence and up to five acres of land. Mobile homes may qualify even if the land where the mobile home is located is leased or rented.
You must first apply for the Senior/Disabled Exemption to reduce your taxes before applying for the Deferral Program. Minimum qualifications for the Deferral Program are 60 years of age by December 31
st of the year you are applying or disabled, must own the home and reside in the home for more than 6 months out of the year and have income less than $40,000. For more information regarding the program please
The deferred amount, plus interest (2% a year), becomes a lien in favor of the state until the total amount is repaid. This deferral is to assist in paying your second half taxes. In order to apply for this Deferral your first half property taxes must be paid in full. Property tax deferral is available for property taxes and /or special assessments on your primary residence and up to five acres of land. Mobile homes may qualify even if the land where the mobile home is located is leased or rented.
You can mail your information to the Assessor’s office, or drop off your application in person at either the Coupeville or Camano Annex.
For more information contact
N.Wheat@co.island.wa.us or call 360-678-7853