Solid Waste Advisory Committee

SWAC represent Island County's cities and towns, haulers, agriculture, recyclers and citizens. Members of the SWAC advise Island County on all aspects of solid waste management planning, assist Island County in the development of solid waste management programs and policies and review and comment on proposed solid waste management rules, policies or ordinances prior to their adoption.

SWAC Meeting

  • 10 AM on the third Monday of the first month of every quarter, or as needed. 
    Please Note: Due to Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday, the next regular scheduled SWAC meeting will be Jan. 22, 2024
  • Join on your computer, mobile app, or room device via Microsoft Teams       
    Click here to join the meeting
    Meeting ID: 228 228 543 975
    Passcode: S4p4UU 
    Download Teams | Join on the web
  • Or call in (audio only): 1-323-433-2396, Phone Conference ID: 942 351 210#

SWAC Bylaws

SWAC Members

  • Jill Johnson – District 2 Island County Commissioner (Ex-Officio)
  • George Place – Solid Waste Lead, City of Oak Harbor
  • Joe Grogan – Town of Coupeville
  • Randi Perry – Public Works Director, City of Langley
  • Dar Christopherson – Member at Large, North Whidbey 
  • Sarah Bergquist – SWAC Chair, Member at Large, Whidbey Island 
  • Liz Kennedy Ketcheson – Member at Large, Central/South Whidbey
  • Scott Sebelsky – Member at Large, Camano Island 
  • Andrew Riggs – Site Manager, Waste Connections dba Island Disposal 
  • Kimberly "Niles" McCann – Public Sector Manager, Waste Management, Inc.
  • Tony Rounds – DTG Recycle dba Island Recycling
  • VACANT – Agricultural Representative

SWAC Agendas & Minutes